Opus Clip, Submagic, Klap, Vizard, CapCut: AI clipping tools compared, with prices dated 24 October 2026
Comparisons of clipping tools go stale the week they are published: a price moves, a credit changes meaning. So this one carries a date. Every figure below is what each publisher’s pricing page displayed from France on 24 October 2026, in the currency shown, with the unit each tool bills in. Read it as a method as much as a table.

Contents
How this comparison was made, and why it carries a date
Comparisons of clipping tools age badly. A price moves, a credit changes meaning, a free tier gains a watermark, and the article that ranks first on the query is a year out of date. So this one is built differently. Every figure below is what the publisher’s own pricing page displayed on 24 October 2026, read from France, logged out, in the currency the page showed. We did not convert dollars into euros, we did not add VAT, and we did not take a reseller’s word for anything. Where a page did not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.
Six tools are compared: flysub, which we make, then Opus Clip, Submagic, Klap, Vizard and CapCut, in the order most people search for them. Our own row uses the same headings as the others, and its numbers come from the product’s code rather than from a marketing page. One caution before the table: a pricing page is a shop window. Trial conditions, the taxes added at checkout and the region you buy from all change what you pay; CapCut, for instance, showed us different dollar prices through a US connection than the euro prices displayed from France.
The table: six tools, the same five columns
| Tool | Free tier, as displayed | Entry paid plan | What a plan buys | Also on the page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| flysub | 3 subtitled videos and 15 minutes of clipping, once, for life; 3 exportable clips per video, exports watermarked | Creator at 19 € a month, or 132 € a year | Minutes of source video: 180 a month on Creator, 480 on Pro (39 €), 900 on Studio (79 €); top-ups of 180 minutes for 19 € and 600 for 49 € on paid plans | Prices in euros on our pricing page; sources up to 3 hours, clips of 15 to 90 seconds, MP4 in 1080 × 1920, no watermark on paid plans |
| Opus Clip | Free at $0: 60 credits a month, watermark, exports kept for 3 days | Starter at $15 a month, monthly billing only; Pro at $29 a month, or $14.50 a month when billed $174 a year | Credits: 150 a month on Starter, 300 on Pro; Business on quote | Prices in dollars; local video uploads of 10 GB or 30 GB depending on the plan, 1080p export, a “dynamic layout switch” for reframing |
| Submagic | No free plan listed; a trial advertised with “No credit card required” | Starter at 19 € a month, or 12 € a month billed annually | Videos with a maximum length: 45 credits = 15 videos of up to 2 minutes on Starter; Pro at 39 € (23 € annual) = 120 credits, 40 videos of up to 5 minutes; Business at 69 € (41 € annual) = 300 credits, 100 videos of up to 30 minutes | Prices in euros from France; 1080p and no watermark from Starter, 4K at 60 fps on Business |
| Klap | Not displayed on the plans page we read | Basic at $14 a month billed annually, or $29 monthly | Clips delivered: 100 a month on Basic, 300 on Pro ($39 annual, $79 monthly), 1,000 on Pro+ ($94 annual, $189 monthly) | Prices in dollars; plans are expressed in clips, not in minutes of source |
| Vizard | Free at $0: 60 credits, 720p export, exports of up to 10 minutes, files kept 3 days | Creator at $29 a month, or $14.50 a month when billed $174 a year | 1 credit = 1 minute uploaded: 600 credits on Creator; Business at $39, or $19.50 a month billed $234 a year | Prices in dollars; 4K and no watermark from Creator; uploads of up to 600 minutes |
| CapCut | Free at 0 € | Pro at 23.99 € a month, or 199.99 € a year | 1,400 AI credits with Pro; Ultra at 68 € a month or 779 € a year; Teams at 14.99 € a month or 120 € a year per seat | Prices in euros from France, and different dollar prices through a US connection; the “long video to shorts” tool has its own page, which states no plan limits |
Minutes, credits, videos, clips: four ways to bill the same job
The hardest column is not the price, it is the fourth one. These tools all do the same thing, turning a long video into vertical clips, but they do not sell the same unit, and the unit decides what you will pay far more than the headline figure.
- Minutes of source video. flysub and Vizard count what you upload: an hour of podcast costs 60 minutes, whatever number of clips comes out. At flysub a started minute counts as a whole minute, so a 10-second video costs one minute. This is the unit you can compute from your calendar.
- Credits with no stated conversion. Opus Clip sells credits and CapCut sells AI credits. The pricing pages we read on 24 October did not give us a rate between a credit and a minute of video, so budget from their help pages or from the trial itself.
- Videos with a maximum length. Submagic expresses its plans in videos, each capped in length: 2 minutes on Starter, 5 on Pro, 30 on Business. It suits a creator who feeds short videos; a one-hour episode is longer than any of the lengths displayed, so ask before you commit.
- Clips delivered. Klap bills the output: 100, 300 or 1,000 clips a month. Predictable if you know how many clips you post, blind to how long your sources are.
Free tiers: what “free” means on each page
Four of the six pages showed a free tier, and no two mean the same thing by it.
- flysub. 3 subtitled videos and 15 minutes of clipping, once, for life, with 3 exportable clips per video, as MP4 with a watermark; no card asked.
- Opus Clip. 60 credits a month at $0, with a watermark and exports kept for 3 days.
- Vizard. 60 credits at $0, exports in 720p and of 10 minutes at most, files kept 3 days.
- CapCut. A plan at 0 €; what it allows in the long-video-to-shorts tool is not stated on the pages we read.
- Submagic and Klap. Submagic lists no free plan but advertises a trial without a card; Klap’s plans page showed us no free tier.
Compare on your own workload: a worked example
Take a common case: a weekly one-hour podcast, four episodes a month, about ten clips per episode. That is 240 minutes of source and 40 clips a month. Here is what the table lets you conclude, and where it stops.
- flysub. 180 minutes on Creator is short of 240, so either Pro (480 minutes for 39 € a month) or Creator plus a 180-minute top-up at 19 € that month, 38 € in all. The first batch suggests about one clip per 5 minutes of video, one extra series of 5 clips is free per video, and further extra clips count 1 minute each.
- Vizard. 240 credits against 600 on Creator: it fits, at $29 monthly or $14.50 a month on the annual plan.
- Klap. 40 clips against 100 on Basic: it fits, at $14 a month billed annually or $29 monthly.
- Opus Clip and CapCut. 300 credits on Opus Clip’s Pro, 1,400 AI credits with CapCut’s Pro: without a conversion, the example cannot be priced from the page.
- Submagic. The displayed plans cap each video at 2, 5 or 30 minutes; a 60-minute episode is outside those figures, so the example cannot be priced from the page either.
Three tools out of six let you price a real month from their pricing page alone. That is the first filter, before any feature.
What a price does not tell you
Once the budget fits, the differences are in the clips. A trial on your own video answers more than any table; here is what to look at, with the pages where we explain each point.
- Where the clip starts and stops. A clip that opens mid-sentence loses the viewer in one second. At flysub the rule is in the code: 15 to 90 seconds, starting and ending on a complete sentence, with a second AI pass that reviews every clip; the method is in how an AI picks the best moment.
- Reframing with two people on screen. A podcast with two guests needs a split screen or a face-tracking crop; the specifications of the vertical frame are in our 9:16 guide.
- Subtitles. Word-level timing, the languages covered (flysub transcribes eight, with automatic detection), and whether you can edit a word before export.
- Export. Resolution (720p on one free tier above), watermark, and the file you actually get: flysub exports MP4 in 1080 × 1920, ready for Shorts, Reels and TikTok, where a Short can run up to 3 minutes.
- The way in. A YouTube link or a file of up to 3 hours at flysub; upload limits in gigabytes or minutes elsewhere, as the table shows.
- What stays. Two free tiers above delete exports after 3 days; check before you build a workflow on them.
If you are new to the practice, what video clipping is sets the vocabulary, and our tour of AI video editing in 2026 places clipping tools among the other AI editing tools. The economics behind the market, from the “clippers” paid per view to the creators who spend seven figures on them, explain why so many tools appeared in two years.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI clipping tool is the cheapest?
It depends on the unit, not on the headline price. On 24 October 2026 the lowest monthly figures displayed were Submagic at 12 € on the annual plan, Klap at $14, Opus Clip and Vizard at $14.50, flysub at 11 € a month on the annual plan (132 € a year) and CapCut at 23.99 €. But a cheap plan sold in 2-minute videos or in credits without a stated conversion can cost more than a dearer plan sold in minutes once you feed it an hour-long podcast.
Do these tools have a free plan?
flysub, Opus Clip, Vizard and CapCut displayed one; Submagic lists a trial without a credit card rather than a free plan; Klap’s plans page showed no free tier. Each free tier has its own limit: a watermark, 720p, exports deleted after 3 days, or a lifetime quota.
What is a credit in a clipping tool?
A unit the publisher defines. At Vizard, 1 credit is 1 minute uploaded. At Opus Clip and CapCut the pricing pages we read gave no conversion. Submagic’s credits map to a number of videos of a maximum length, Klap counts clips, flysub counts minutes of source video.
Why are some prices in dollars and others in euros?
Because that is what each page displayed from France on 24 October 2026. We did not convert and we did not add VAT. Prices can also differ by region: CapCut showed other dollar prices through a US connection.
What should I test during a trial?
The same one-hour video on each tool: where the clips start and stop, how two speakers are reframed, the quality and languages of the subtitles, the export you get (resolution, watermark, format) and how long files are kept.


